- Corporate Profile
- Directors
- Milestones
- Awards and Recognition
- Corporate Brochure
- Contact Us

Board of Directors

+ Sir Gordon Ying Sheung WU KCMG, FICE  
  Chairman and Director  

He is the Chairman of the Board of the Company since November 1996 and a director of various subsidiaries of the Company.

He was the Chairman and an Executive Director (from July 2003 to April 2018) and a Non-Executive Director (from April 2018 to May 2018) of Hopewell Highway Infrastructure Limited (a company listed on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited and has been disposed by the Company in April 2018).

In 1958, he graduated from Princeton University with a Bachelor of Science degree in engineering, and as one of the founders of the Company, he was the Managing Director from 1972 to 2001. His responsibilities have included the Company’s infrastructure projects in the PRC and South-East Asia, and he has been involved in designing and constructing numerous buildings and development projects in Hong Kong, the PRC and overseas, including the Shajiao B power plant, which received the British Construction Industry Award, as well as set a world record for completion within 22 months.

  He is very active in civic activities and community service. His civic and community positions include:  

In the PRC  
Council Member United Nations Association of China
Advisor China Development Bank

In Hong Kong
Vice President The Real Estate Developers Association of Hong Kong


He was a member of the National Committee of the Chinese People’s Political Consultative Conference (“CPPCC”) from 1983 to 2013 and a Vice Chairman of the Committee for Liaison with Hong Kong, Macao, Taiwan and Overseas Chinese (Special committee of CPPCC) from 2003 to 2013.

Sir Gordon WU is a Fellow of several professional bodies, including:

Organization Year Received
The Hong Kong Institution of Engineers (Honorary Fellow) 1994
Institution of Civil Engineers, United Kingdom (Fellow) 2000
Hong Kong Academy of Engineering Sciences (Fellow) 2004

He also received Honorary Doctorate Degrees from the following universities:

Universities Year Received
The Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Hong Kong (Honorary Doctor of Engineering) 1994
University of Strathclyde, United Kingdom (Honorary Doctor of Business Administration) 1994
The University of Edinburgh, United Kingdom (Doctorem honoris causa) 1996
Lingnan University, Hong Kong (Honorary Doctor of Laws) 2007
City University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong (Honorary Doctor of Social Science) 2007
Macau University of Science & Technology, Macau (Honorary Doctor of Business Administration) 2010
University of Manitoba, Canada (Honorary Degree of Doctor of Laws) 2012
The Education University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong
(Honorary Degree of Doctor of Social Sciences)
Hong Kong Shue Yan University, Hong Kong (Doctor of Business Administration, honoris causa) 2021
The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, Hong Kong (Doctor of Engineering honoris causa) 2021

  His additional awards and honours include:


Awards and Honours Year Awarded
Prominent individuals in innovation and entrepreneurship and outstanding role models at the 40th Anniversary of Shenzhen Special Economic Zone 2020
The HKIE Gold Medal 2015 by The Hong Kong Institution of Engineers 2015
The Lifetime Achievement Award of 2013 Hong Kong Business Awards by the South China Morning Post and DHL 2013
The Lifetime Achievement Award of the 9th Asia Business Leaders Award by CNBC 2010
Officer de L’Ordre de la Couronne by HM Albert II, King of Belgium 2007
The Order of Croatian Danica with figure of Blaz Lorkovic by the Republic of Croatia 2007
Gold Bauhinia Star (G.B.S.) by the Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region 2004
Leader of the Year 2003 (Business/Finance) by Sing Tao Newspaper Group 2004
Personality of the Year 2003 by the Asian Freight & Supply Chain Awards 2003
Knight Commander of the Order of St. Michael and St. George (KCMG) by the Queen of England 1997
Industry All-Star Award by Independent Energy, USA 1996
International CEO of the Year by George Washington University, USA 1996
Among “the Best Entrepreneurs” by Business Week 1994
Man of the Year by the International Road Federation, USA 1994
Business Man of the Year by the South China Morning Post and DHL 1991
Asia Corporate Leader by Asia Finance Magazine, Hong Kong 1991
Chevalier de L’Ordre de la Couronne by the King of Belgium 1985


+ Lady WU Ivy Sau Ping KWOK JP  

She has been a Non-executive Director of the Company and joined the Board in August 1991.

Lady WU was the Chairman of the Hong Kong Red Cross. In September 2014, she was appointed as the Honorary Consul of The Republic of Croatia in Hong Kong.